Book Review: The Gospel According To Jesus by Chris Seay

Posted: September 29, 2010 in Uncategorized

After receiving this book to review, I have to admit, I was disappointed in it.  With a title like “The Gospel According To Jesus” I was expecting more from this book.

Chris Seay talks about the righteousness and how it relates to how we should or should not act according to Jesus.  The book stays on this topic for quite a while and I felt like it was an “in your face” type of style of writing.

Don’t get me wrong.  We need to be like Jesus and come down from some of our “high horses”, but this book just didn’t quite grab me like others have (see my post from Out Live Your Life by Max Lucado). 

Chris could have gone into more detail about how Jesus lived, was crucified for our sins, and rose again.  I felt this was lacking in the book.  Jesus not only taught us life application lessons through his stories but He was here because of our sins, and to take them away.  This to me is the Gospel According To Jesus.

I will say, this book is easy to read, and overall it was just okay.  I’ll rate it 3 stars out of 5, and let you be the judge (get it from your local library).

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

