Red Ring Of Death…

Posted: November 19, 2008 in Uncategorized

xbox_360_red_ring_of_deathAnyone that owns an XBOX 360 has probably heard of the dreaded Red Ring Of Death.  Well, low and behold, mine got this two nights ago.  The good part is it’s covered under the warranty, so I do not have to pay to get this fixed.  The bad part is in the following statement:

  • Two days ago, I called XBOX support and got my ticket number, and was instructed that I could download the shipping label within 24 hours.
  • Nothing yesterday from the shipping label.
  • This morning, I received an email saying my label was ready to print.
  • I tried to print the label, and it was in a status of completed, but low and behold no label!  Now, I am not stupid…I am a computer programmer and do know what i am doing when it comes to printing labels, etc.
  • After trying several times, I called Microsoft support.  This is where the “fun” started.  I say “Fun” to be nice. 
  • They said, go to the support page and print the label. 
  • I responded, already tried to do that, which they replied, go to the support page and print the label again.
  • Now is it me, or was that not clear the first time?
  • This is the problem.  I received some lady from a third world country (No country will be mentioned here to save my butt) and she said her name was “Anne”.  Uh huh…sure it is lady…
  • She obviously had no clue.  She said she would get her supervisor to speak to me.  2 minutes later, she comes back on the phone and says GO TO SUPPORT and print the label.  Hmmm…back to square one with this chick!
  • Anyway, long story short.  I still do not have the label, and came to work.  Checked Microsoft’s website to see if I could print the label here.  And their web site says that “Some Customers are experiencing issues printing labels.  They are working on it.”
  • REALLY??????? Why didn’t you tell me that the first time around????????

I heard of people getting compensation for troubles like this, such as a free game or controller, etc.  Hey Microsoft, if you are reading this, please send me the GEARS OF WAR 2 game!  I’m broke, need my XBOX fixed, and would love a little compensation for the bumbling service I got from the chick on the phone.  What do you say?

Comments
  1. Joan says:

    So Shawn,
    How that Patience thing working out
    for you.

    Your fellow worship arts friend

  2. skirkham says:

    LOL…OK…Now you caught me on this one, but other than that, patience is working out just fine.

  3. Joan says:

    Glad to hear it buddy, see you around
    work or at church this weekend

Leave a Reply

