Leadership…and selfishness

Posted: June 17, 2008 in Uncategorized

I don’t know if you all know this or not, but I am the president and marketing director for the Jazz Band I play in.  This requires me to make sure we are booked for gigs.

Well, yesterday a lady called about our gig on June 21, and said she and the committee moved the date to June 28 instead.  This required me to get on the email wagon and get responses from band mates as to whether they can do the 28th gig or not.

I don’t know about you, but I was a little upset with the way this lady had handledthe situation.  She assumed we would have no problem giving her our time with short notice.  I would have at least expected her to given us a little more notice.  After all, I am now looking like the bad guy because I think I have guilted some of the musicians into playing the gig on the 28th. 

I feel bad about this, because those guys/gals may have had other plans, and now we need to accommodate this ladies late request.

Am I wrong for thinking this was selfish on her part?  Should we be expected to bow down and accommodate her needs while possibly inconveniencing some people in the band?

Leadership is not as easy as it seems, and I look back at the post I had earlier about being second fiddle.  Second fiddle is not so bad after all.

Leave a Reply

