Our Calling?

Posted: May 28, 2008 in Uncategorized

I have been thinking of something the last couple days and wonder what God really has in store for my calling?  Let me start off by telling you a little bit about what is happening in my Church.

Three friends are going to the Ukraine on a mission trip to help Kids and Adults at Music Camp International.  One will be teaching some basic guitar.  Another will be helping out with technical stuff such as lighting and sound.  And a third will be helping out with administrative tasks.  Don’t get me wrong in what I am about to say, because I am very excited for them and what they are going to do with that group in the next three weeks.

If this is successful they are looking at sending other “leaders” to that area in the future.  Now, here is where I get messed up in what God has in mind for me.

I know I am very strong in Small Groups Ministry, but I think I am equally strong if not stronger in the Music Ministry.  Sometimes I don’t feel that way, based on things I hear out loud from other leaders.

Just the other day, another person in our worship band was pointed out as beign a leader who might be going to the Ukraine next year.  I was a little disappointed that no-one had even asked me or hinted to me that I might be chosen.

I know there has to be people like the “second fiddle” in the orchestra to support, and maybe I just need to suck it up and jump in that role. But, the truth is, is this really what God has in mind for me – to be a non leader in the Music Ministry?  I’m so confused right now.  I’ll be praying hard about this and hoping God will come knocking at my door to let me know if this is a YES or NO.  Either way, I know it’s His will, not mine.  At least I am grounded there.

Comments
  1. Joan says:

    Hi Shawn,

    It okay to be a second fiddle, I love the role.
    It is more important to follow the path God has
    chosen for you, not the path He has chosen for
    someone else. Think of your role more like
    that of Jonathan to David, or Caleb to Joshua.
    They were important yet they followed and
    supported their chosen leaders

  2. skirkham says:

    Thanks Joan! I have to remember that at times. Sometimes I get caught up in stuff and let it bug me, but I shouldn’t. Thanks to you and Dave both for your support and kind words. They mean a lot.

Leave a Reply

